Lexington County is home to two major rivers, the Saluda River, an SC Scenic River, the Congaree River, and Lake Murray, one of the largest recreational areas in the County. In addition to consistent population growth, Lexington County is experiencing rapid commercial, retail, and industrial growth, making the protection of the County's natural resources a priority. The National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Stormwater Permit controls discharges from the County's storm drainage system, and the Ozone Early Action Compact (EAC) to reduce ground-level ozone concentrations are two environmental programs managed out of the Public Works Stormwater Division. Both programs aim to achieve the balance of resource protection and economic growth.

Stormwater Program
As natural landscapes are converted into urban landscapes, the ability for the ground to absorb and filter stormwater is reduced or eliminated completely. The paved roadways, parking areas, and other impervious surfaces that make up an urban landscape cause rainwater that once soaked into the ground to run off into storm drains. Stormwater runoff picks up many pollutants along its way to the storm drain, (pet waste, oils, antifreeze, etc.) and deposits those pollutants into the nearest river, lake, or stream.

The NPDES stormwater program requires Lexington County to manage and clean up pollution associated with stormwater runoff through six measures:
1. Public Education
2. Public Involvement
3. Illicit Discharge Detection & Elimination
4. Construction Site Runoff Control
5. Post Construction Runoff Control
6. Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping.

The Town of Pine Ridge complies with the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES), and has partnered and adopted Lexington County’s Stormwater Ordinance & Lexington County Land Development Manual. The Town of Pine Ridge has an intergovernmental agreement with Lexington County to implement the Construction and Post Construction minimum control measures on our behalf. In addition, the Town of Pine Ridge also is in partnership with the Municipalities of Cayce, Irmo, Lexington, South Congaree, Springdale, West Columbia and Lexington County to assist us with the Public Education and Public Involvement Minimum Control Measures through the Lexington Countywide Stormwater Consortium.